Ga direct naar productinformatie
1 van 1

The Postal History of British New Guinea and Papua 1885-1942

The Postal History of British New Guinea and Papua 1885-1942

Normale prijs €29,50 EUR
Normale prijs Aanbiedingsprijs €29,50 EUR
Aanbieding Uitverkocht
Inclusief btw.
Aantal op voorraad: 1

Korte omschrijving 📚

The postage stamps and postal history of Papua New Guinea originated in the two colonial administrations on the eastern part of the island of New Guinea and continued until their eventual merger, followed by independence in 1975. In the South, Papua, formally under British rule, used the stamps of Queensland between 1885 and 1901. With the creation of the Commonwealth of Australia, the philatelic production and postal organisation were transferred to Australia and the stamps printed in Brisbane, then Melbourne. In the North, New Guinea was under the control of the German Empire and used its stamps between 1888 and 1897. The colony got stamps bearing its name after 1897. Consequently, to the Australian occupation in 1914, the remaining German colonial stamps and some Australian ones, were overprinted. After the Territory of New Guinea became a League of Nations mandate entrusted to Australia, this country organised the postal system and philatelic production in New Guinea.
Alle details bekijken

Eerder bekeken